Truck News


Canadian wins Women in Trucking scholarship

PLOVER, Wisc. – The Women In Trucking (WIT) Foundation awarded nine scholarships totaling $11,500 recently.

One recipient was an aspiring truck driver from Canada.

Winners of the WIT Scholarships in the amount of $1,000 were:

  • Lakenya Anderson – enrolled at All-State Career in Baltimore, Md. for CDL
  • Timothy Contreras – enrolled at Pima Community College in Tucson, Az. for CDL
  • Maria Munoz – enrolled at the University of Memphis in Memphis, Tenn. for Mechanical Engineering

The J. J. Keller Foundation authorized a $10,000 grant to the WIT Foundation in honour of former WIT Foundation chair Jan Hamblin’s 40 years of service to J. J. Keller & Associates, Inc. and in recognition of her commitment to the Women In Trucking organization. The Jan Hamblin WIT Scholarship Fund was established to provide financial resources for women who choose to pursue or enhance their education related to the trucking industry. Emily Habeck was awarded the first Jan Hamblin WIT Scholarship in the amount of $1,000. Emily is attending the University of Wisconsin—Madison and is majoring in Supply Chain Management.

The Ryder Charitable Foundation also recently donated $25,000, the largest one-time donation since the WIT Foundation’s inception in 2011.

This month, five women received the Ryder/WIT scholarship each in the amount of $1,500. The recipients were:

  • Corinna Carter – enrolled at the University of Memphis in Memphis, Tenn. for Mechanical Engineering
  • Heather Dodson – enrolled at Chesapeake College in Wye Mills, Md. for CDL
  • Wanda Lee-Ann Edwards van Muijen – enrolled at Professional Transport Driver Training School in Winnipeg, Man. in Canada for class 1 training
  • Susan Murphy – enrolled at Midwest Technical Institute in Springfield, Mo. for CDL
  • Shanna Waters – enrolled at Ogeechee Technical College in Statesboro, Ga. for CDL



Print this page
Related Articles

Have your say:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *