Tanguay steps aside at OTA

TORONTO — Julie Tanguay has resigned her post as Ontario Trucking Association (OTA) chair.

Tanguay was named to the post in November ’08. At that time, she was president of L.E.Walker Transportation, which was later sold to MacKinnon Transport, of Guelph, Ont.

Between now and the OTA board elections this coming August, OTA immediate past chair Mark Seymour of Kriska Transportation will take the reins.

In a statement released today, Tanguay said: “I do not want the recent changes in my business circumstances to become a distraction for OTA and I am therefore stepping aside as the OTA chairperson, effective immediately.

Late last year, not long after L.E. Walker was acquired, MacKinnon declared that its newest subsidiary filed for creditor protection. 

“I want to thank all of those members who have supported me through this time. Being the chair of OTA is a great honor and I feel very privileged to have had the opportunity. OTA is an incredible organization that I will continue to support and be involved with in the years ahead.”

Commented OTA president David Bradley: “I know how difficult a decision this is for Julie. She was a terrific chairperson and is a true leader. She has been a beacon of common sense and responsible trucking throughout her career and I have no doubt will continue to be so.”

Have your say

This is a moderated forum. Comments will no longer be published unless they are accompanied by a first and last name and a verifiable email address. (Today's Trucking will not publish or share the email address.) Profane language and content deemed to be libelous, racist, or threatening in nature will not be published under any circumstances.