Truck News

How about them Canucks? We may not be able to dominate the World Junior hockey scene like we once did, but we still do well on the international stage when it comes to truck safety. Six Canadian fleets have been named winners of the Truckload Carriers Association’s National Fleet Safety Awards, making up a third of the complete list of winners. Two carriers from among the list of 18 winners will be awarded grand prizes at the TCA convention in March.

The Canadian winners included: Brian Kurtz Trucking and MacKinnon Transport (Division II 5-14.99 million miles); N. Yanke Transfer (since acquired by Celadon) and Erb International (Division IV 25-49.99 million miles); Groupe Robert (Division V 50-99.99 million miles); and Bison Transport (Division VI 100+ million miles).

“In addition to focusing the spotlight on companies that work hard to achieve stellar safety records, these awards give us a glimpse of how well the industry is performing as a whole,” said Jerry Waddell, CDS, chairman of TCA’s Safety & Security Division and the safety director for Cargo Transporters of Claremont, N.C. “With the continued decrease in the total contest fleet vehicle accident ratio, it demonstrates the forward safety thinking that our carrier members exhibit on a daily basis when it comes to their day-to-day operations.”

Truck News

Truck News is Canada's leading trucking newspaper - news and information for trucking companies, owner/operators, truck drivers and logistics professionals working in the Canadian trucking industry.

Have your say

We won't publish or share your data