New president at CVSA

Avatar photo

GREENBELT, MD – Captain Christopher Turner of the Kansas Highway Patrol has been named the new president of the Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance, which has made several changes to its leadership team. Sean Mustatia of the Saskatchewan Ministry of Highways and Infrastructure will serve as vice president of Region 5, which includes Canada.

The changes were officially made on September 20 during a meeting in Whitehorse, Yukon.

Turner manages the Kansas Highway Patrol’s Motor Carrier Safety Assistance Program, motor carrier inspectors fixed/mobile weight enforcement, and crash reconstruction teams. He had served as chairman of the alliance’s election and finance committees, and vice chairman of what is now known as policy and regulatory affairs as well as the adjudicated citations ad hoc committee.

Captain Scott Carnegie of the Mississippi Highway Patrol becomes vice president, and Sergeant John Samis of the Delaware State Police is secretary. Julius Debuschewitz of Yukon Highways and Public Works is unable to serve his term as past president, the alliance adds. Sergeant Tom Fuller of the New York State Police and Deputy Chief Mark Savage of the Colorado State Patrol have each agreed to serve one more term as past president, to meet numbers required under alliance bylaws.

Sergeant Scott Dorrier of the New Jersey State Police is the Region 1 president, Sergeant Eric Bergquist of Main State Police will be the region’s vice president. Captain John Broers of the South Dakota Highway Patrol is Region 3 president, which will have Captain John Hahn of the Colorado State Patrol as vice president. Lieutenant Daniel Wyrick of the Wyoming Highway Patrol is Region 4’s vice president. Major Chris Nordloh of the Texas Department of Public Safety is chairman of the size and weight committee.

The Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance focuses on setting inspection standards across different jurisdictions.


Avatar photo

John G. Smith is the editorial director of Newcom Media's trucking and supply chain publications -- including Today's Trucking,, TruckTech, Transport Routier, and Road Today. The award-winning journalist has covered the trucking industry since 1995.

Have your say

This is a moderated forum. Comments will no longer be published unless they are accompanied by a first and last name and a verifiable email address. (Today's Trucking will not publish or share the email address.) Profane language and content deemed to be libelous, racist, or threatening in nature will not be published under any circumstances.