APTA concerned about Marine Atlantic make-up

Avatar photo

MONCTON, N.B. – Eastern truckers may be happy about improvements to ferry service between Nova Scotia and Newfoundland, but the Atlantic Provinces Trucking Association (APTA) still has a major concern. The latest appointments to the Marine Atlantic board failed to include anyone with a background in trucking, even though the industry is the ferry service’s largest customer.

“We were very, very disappointed here,” says APTA president Ralph Boyd. “An awful lot of things are done without consultation with the users of the service,” he adds, referring to such things as rate adjustments. “We think it’s very important that there is somebody on the board who understands what we are talking about.”

The association is drafting an official complaint that will be sent to federal Transport Minister David Collenette.

Through the appointments in late June, Capt. Allan Roswell of St. John’s, Nfld. was named president and CEO of Marine Atlantic. New directors on the board include Mark Joseph Eyking, who is a board member of Cape Breton Board of Trade, Nova Scotia Horticulture, and Nova Scotia Federation of Agriculture; Vincent MacLean, who is chairman of the Sydney Airport Authority; and Lucille Riedle, who has more than 30 years experience in education, management and strategic and corporate planning. n

Eastern driving champs collect regional honors

MONCTON, N.B. – Several Eastern truckers collected honors with the return of the Atlantic Provinces Trucking Association’s driving championships.

Phillip Sanford of Eassons Transport placed first in the five-axle competition, followed by Ray Curtis of Woodstock Transport (1992) and Corey Waugh of General Freight Carriers. Lee Armstrong of Eassons Transport was honored for professionalism in the category.

In the four-axle competition, Grant Brown of Classic Freight Systems placed first, Brian Upham of Armour Transportation was second, and Jeff Wilkins of Clarke Road Transport placed third. Herb Peters of Day and Ross was honored for his professionalism.

In the two-axle category, Roy B Mattinson of Roy B Mattinson Trucking won the competition, followed by David MacNeil of Armour Transportation and George Pouliot of Clarke Road Transport. Armour’s David MacNeil was honored for professionalism in the category. n

Avatar photo

Truck News is Canada's leading trucking newspaper - news and information for trucking companies, owner/operators, truck drivers and logistics professionals working in the Canadian trucking industry.

Have your say

This is a moderated forum. Comments will no longer be published unless they are accompanied by a first and last name and a verifiable email address. (Today's Trucking will not publish or share the email address.) Profane language and content deemed to be libelous, racist, or threatening in nature will not be published under any circumstances.