B.C. holds driving championships

Truck News

ABBOTSFORD, B.C. – B.C.’s top drivers have been crowned at the annual B.C. Professional Truck Driving Championships in Abbotsford.

Thirty-nine of the province’s top drivers pitted their skills against each other at Abbotsford’s Tradex Centre, with the winners preparing to move on to the national championships in Winnipeg Sept. 5-7.

This year’s winners include: John Court, Reimer Express Lines, step van; Brian Thatcher, Canadian Freightways, straight truck; Jack Newton, Canadian Freightways, single tractor-single trailer; Dale Scott, Canadian Freightways, single tractor-tandem trailer; John Broker, Martin Brower of Canada, tandem tractor-tandem trailer; Adam Besse, Noco Transport, b-train.

Other winners included Canadian Freightways, recipient of the team trophy, Colin Hartnett of Federal Express who was named Rookie of the Year and Court, who was the Grand Champion. The championships were hosted by the B.C. Trucking Association and judged by representatives from the Ministry of Solicitor General and Public Safety, the RCMP and the BCTA.

Truck News

Truck News is Canada's leading trucking newspaper - news and information for trucking companies, owner/operators, truck drivers and logistics professionals working in the Canadian trucking industry.

Have your say

We won't publish or share your data