The search is on in Ontario (August 21, 2001)

Avatar photo

TORONTO, Ont. — The Ontario Trucking Association (OTA) has begun its search to find nominations for the 2001 OTA/Volvo Trucks Ontario Driver of the Year.

If you have a driver who deserves to be recognized because they have a collision-free driving record and demonstrate professionalism, both on and off the highway, nomination forms can be found at

To be eligible, the trucker must have been regularly employed for the last five years and during that period encountered no preventable collisions. This award program is only open to company drivers and owner/operators contracted to Ontario Trucking Association member companies.

The Ontario Driver of the Year receives a keepsake trophy engraved with the recipient’s name and a $300-cheque courtesy of Volvo Trucks Canada Inc.

Previous winners include:
1999/00 — Barry Enman, Warren Gibson Limited
1998/99 — William Miller, Ram Contract Carriers
1997/98 — Stewart Cameron, Meyers Transport Ltd.
1996/97 — Gerald Gillis, Buckham Transport Ltd.
1995/96 — Robert Hagen, Challenger Motor Freight
1994/95 — John Wilkinson, Norris Transport Ltd.
1993/94 — Tony Hopp, Al’s Cartage Ltd.
1992/93 — David R. Linfoot, TNT Overland Express

Ontario’s Driver of the Year automatically enters the competition for the title of CTA/Volvo Trucks Canada National Truck Driver of the Year and its $1,000-first prize.

Avatar photo

Truck News is Canada's leading trucking newspaper - news and information for trucking companies, owner/operators, truck drivers and logistics professionals working in the Canadian trucking industry.

Have your say

This is a moderated forum. Comments will no longer be published unless they are accompanied by a first and last name and a verifiable email address. (Today's Trucking will not publish or share the email address.) Profane language and content deemed to be libelous, racist, or threatening in nature will not be published under any circumstances.