Alberta crowns truck driving champs

RED DEER, Alta. — Professional truck drivers from across Alberta converged at Red Deer’s Westerner Park recently, where they demonstrated their outstanding steering skills at this year’s Alberta Truck Driving Championships.

Canadian Freightways driver fared well with six top three finishes in five categories.

The complete list of winners:

Single / Tandem: Dale Fryklund – City of Calgary. (Glen Harris – Grimshaw Trucking, Tim Bingley – Sokil Express, 2nd and 3rd respectively).

Single / Single: Patrick Thorne – Canadian Freightways. (Darren Tychkowsky – Fed-Ex Freight; Kent Friesen – Canadian Freightways).

Straight Truck: Kevin Corscadden – Sokil Express. (Keith Franklin – Canadian Freightways; David Bulechowsky – City of Calgary).

Tandem / Tandem: Douglas Hersey – TST Overland. (Rod Harrison – Canadian Freightways; Paul Mills – Canada Safeway).

B-Train: Ron Johnstone – Canadian Freightways. (Steve Calhoun – Canadian Freightways; Roy Prew – Westcan Bulk Transport).

The top ranked drivers will now move on to represent Alberta at the National Truck Driving Championships in Calgary this fall.

Have your say

This is a moderated forum. Comments will no longer be published unless they are accompanied by a first and last name and a verifiable email address. (Today's Trucking will not publish or share the email address.) Profane language and content deemed to be libelous, racist, or threatening in nature will not be published under any circumstances.