Alberta names championship winners

EDMONTON, Alta. — The Alberta Motor Transport Association (AMTA) held its provincial driving championships June 21, and in the process assembled a team of pros to represent the province at the nationals later this year in Quebec.

Winners, who will go on to the nationals, included: Keith Franklin, Canadian Freightways, Straight Truck; Shaun Thompson, Grimshaw Trucking, Single-Single; Matt Geib, Bison Transport, Single-Tandem; Matthew MacDonald, Department of National Defense, Tandem-Tandem; and Ron Johnstone, Canadian Freightways, B-Train.

Grand Champion was MacDonald, who also claimed Rookie of the Year honourse. The Team Award went to Canadian Freightways.

Video from the competition is available here.

Truck News is Canada's leading trucking newspaper - news and information for trucking companies, owner/operators, truck drivers and logistics professionals working in the Canadian trucking industry.

Have your say

We won't publish or share your data