Alberta Truck Roadeo crowns provincial winners

Avatar photo

RED DEER, Alta. — The Alberta Provincial Truck Driving Championships, better known as the Truck Roadeo, were held last weekend at Westerner Park in Red Deer.

Some of the province’s most talented drivers vied for spots in the national championships to be held later this year in Manitoba.

Competitors put their skills to the test in a number of categories. Winners from the provincial championships were: Randy Smith, Canadian Freightways, Step Van; Keith Franklin, Canadian Freightways, Straight Truck; Darren Tychkowsky, FedEx Freight, Single-Single; Dale Fryklund, City of Calgary, Single Tandem; Paul Mills, Canada Safeway, Tandem-Tandem; and Steven M. Calhoun, Canadian Freightways, B-Train.

Canada Safeway’s Mills won the Grand Champion award, Scott Gee of Sokil Express Lines was named Rookie of the Year and the Team Award went to Canadian Freightways Calgary, consisting of Lonnie Wilton, Rick Ross, Patrick Thorne, Dustin Slawson and Randy Smith.




Avatar photo

Truck News is Canada's leading trucking newspaper - news and information for trucking companies, owner/operators, truck drivers and logistics professionals working in the Canadian trucking industry.

Have your say

This is a moderated forum. Comments will no longer be published unless they are accompanied by a first and last name and a verifiable email address. (Today's Trucking will not publish or share the email address.) Profane language and content deemed to be libelous, racist, or threatening in nature will not be published under any circumstances.