Truck News


AMTA elects new board members, hands out awards

BANFF, Alta. -- The Alberta Motor Transport Association (AMTA) held its annual general meeting and management confe...

BANFF, Alta. — The Alberta Motor Transport Association (AMTA) held its annual general meeting and management conference in Banff over the weekend, electing several new directors.

Jeff Taylor of Gibson Energy and Henvry Van Steenbergen of Legal Freight Services have been elected for two year terms as directors at large. Greg Sokil of Sokil Express Lines was elected to a one year term. Wayne Pedersen of Pedersen Transport became the association’s new president while former president Tom Kenny of Westcan Bulk Transport is now past-president. President-elect is Jim Davis of Economy Carriers.

There were several awards presented at the conference as well. Former AMTA president John Finn of Exalta Transport was presented with the Service to the Industry Award. Roland Mullen received the Historical Award and Darrell Spencer of Kal-Tire was presented with the Associate Trades Award.

The Driver of the Year Award was presented to John Lucey of Hi-Way 9 Express. He is a 35-year driving veteran who has spent all but one of those years with Hi-Way 9. He has racked up nearly three million accident-free miles and has never received so much as a traffic ticket during his driving career.

Kenote speakers at the event included Mark Ram of Markel Insurance who was joined by other insurance representatives including Bob Shaw from Trilagy Insurance, John Slade from Marsh Canada and Frits Wortman from the Insurance Board of Canada. Carallee Daigle of the HRDC also presented, and NHL legend Bobby Hull also gave a speech.

Truck News

Truck News

Truck News is Canada's leading trucking newspaper - news and information for trucking companies, owner/operators, truck drivers and logistics professionals working in the Canadian trucking industry.
All posts by

Print this page
Related Articles

Have your say:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *