ATA names winners of 2016 EPA SmartWay Excellence Award

by Truck News

LAS VEGAS, Nev. – The American Trucking Associations revealed the winners of the 2016 EPA SmartWay Excellence awards today.

In total there were 43 winners, including five Canadian fleets: Airtime Express, Arrow Transportation, C.A.T,  Challenger Motor Freight and Bison Transport. Fifteen of the 43 winners were members of the ATA who were honored in Las Vegas at the ATA Management Conference & Exhibition.

“EPA’s SmartWay Transport Partnership is a model of industry and government cooperation,” ATA president and CEO Chris Spear said. “We hope that SmartWay will continue to be a tremendous example of how business and government can work together and how our industry can reduce fuel use and greenhouse emissions. I congratulate the industry leaders who EPA is honoring here today and especially those leaders who are part of our association.”

“As the SmartWay program completes its 12th year, EPA recognizes its top Carrier Partners for their commitment to an efficient and environmentally responsible freight transportation supply chain,” added Christopher Grundler, director of EPA’s Office of Transportation & Air Quality. “We all depend on the freight sector, and these award-winning SmartWay carriers have demonstrated that it is possible to compete in this space while placing an emphasis on environmental integrity, allowing for reduced fuel costs which increase revenue while also lowering greenhouse gas emissions.”

To view the full list of winners, click here:

Have your say

This is a moderated forum. Comments will no longer be published unless they are accompanied by a first and last name and a verifiable email address. (Today's Trucking will not publish or share the email address.) Profane language and content deemed to be libelous, racist, or threatening in nature will not be published under any circumstances.