California to start fining idling truckers
SACRAMENTO, Calif. — The California Trucking Association is reminding truckers who haul into the Golden State that as of January 1, sleeper berth tractors will no longer be allowed to idle when drivers are resting or sleeping.
The limit for idling trucks is five minutes. Beyond that, drivers caught running the engine will be fined a minimum of $300.
Furthermore, on Feb. 15, state inspectors will begin checking for engine emission control labels as part of the routine roadside inspection program.
Drivers with a missing or tampered label are subject to a $300 fine, with another $500 tacked on if proof or repair is not provided within 45 days.
Have your say
This is a moderated forum. Comments will no longer be published unless they are accompanied by a first and last name and a verifiable email address. (Today's Trucking will not publish or share the email address.) Profane language and content deemed to be libelous, racist, or threatening in nature will not be published under any circumstances.