HighwayStar: An Easy, Free Way to Make a Driver’s Day

Top: Brian Bertsch (middle), 2013 Highway Star award winner receiving his prize. Bottom: (left to right): Stephen McGibbon, Reg Delahunt and Cliff Lammeren.

TORONTO, ON — Want to make a driver’s day? Perhaps a grand compliment and $15, 000 in cash and prizes would do it. We can make that happen for one outstanding truck driver, either an owner-operator or staff driver – we aren’t picky.

If you know some experienced, safe, conscientious drivers who are invaluable to their community, you can nominate them for the Highway Star of the Year Award, an annual competition that’s easy and free. The deadline for nominations is Feb. 15 and you can get started by clicking here.

The winners receive a cash prize, are flown to the Truck World show in Toronto in April and will be profiled in Today’s Trucking magazine. 

Also, it’s really nice to have your hard work recognized like that. Even if your candidate doesn’t win, you’ll be paying him or her a huge compliment just through the nomination. And if you entered a candidate in the past but he or she didn’t win, you can still do it again this year.

The folks at Newcom Business Media, the company that owns this website, Truck World and CamExpo, organize the competition. Prizes are courtesy of Newcom in partnership with Freightliner, Meritor, Espar, Cummins, Chevron and the Owner-Operator’s Association of Canada (OBAC).

Here’s a look at the past winners and hopefully your candidate will be next!

• 2013 Highway Star Award Winner Brian Bertsch, a veteran truck driver with over 35 years’ experience and two-million-accident-free-miles under his seatbelt. Read more about him here
• 2012 Highway Star of the Year Winner Stephen McGibbon, an owner-operator with Milltown Trucking of Oak Bay, N.B., with over 27 years’ experience on the road.  Read more about him here
• 2011 Highway Star of the Year Winner Reg Delahunt, a seasoned driver who’s covered more than six million accident-free kilometers, coast to coast, through 10 provinces and 44 U.S. states. Read more about him here
• 2010 Highway Star of the Year Winner  Cliff Lammeren, an Edmonton-based driver focused on giving back to his community, who has a long and very full history of volunteering in various initiatives. Read more about him here

Have your say

This is a moderated forum. Comments will no longer be published unless they are accompanied by a first and last name and a verifiable email address. (Today's Trucking will not publish or share the email address.) Profane language and content deemed to be libelous, racist, or threatening in nature will not be published under any circumstances.