Manitoba drivers honoured at “Excellence Luncheon”

WINNIPEG –The Manitoba Trucking Association honoured the top drivers in the province with the presentation of the MTA-Custom Truck Sales Industry Excellence Awards yesterday.

The annual award, presented by the Manitoba Trucking Association and Custom Truck Sales Inc., recognizes transport truck drivers who display superior commitment to safety, customer service, and dedication to their industry. Nominations can be made by anyone impacted positively by a driver’s service.

The latest winners are: Jacob Wiebe of Cheval Transport; Robert Yablonski of Payne Transportation LP; Donald Lister of Canada Safeway; Randal Panko of Heartland Transport; William DeGroot of Arnold Bros. Transport; and Gustav Giesbrecht of YRC Reimer.

“The six drivers we honoured today exemplify the dedication, sacrifice and skill required to be an elite driver,” says Tom Payne Jr., president of the Manitoba Trucking Association. “Many recipients current and past have millions of incident-free miles on their record; these drivers are the best of the best when it comes to drivers in Manitoba.”

The winners receive a plaque commemorating their nomination, a letter of congratulations from Manitoba Infrastructure and Transportation Minister Steve Ashton, a custom Industry Excellence jacket and a small honorarium.

One of the six winners will be named the Volvo Trucks Manitoba Driver of the Year in June.


Have your say

We won't publish or share your data