Manitoba Trucking Association doles out annual scholarships

Avatar photo

WINNIPEG, Man. — The Manitoba Trucking Association (MTA) handed out nine scholarships at its annual Scholarship Presentation Luncheon Aug. 25.

For the 25th consecutive year, these scholarships have been offered by the MTA to member employees and their dependents, in an effort to recognize the contribution of member firms to the trucking industry. The scholarships are offered in two categories: Academic awards and Apprenticeship awards.

The winners of the Academic Scholarships are: Devin Edwards (Gardewine North), Tyson Bednar (Custom Truck Sales Inc.) and Scott Kehler (Penner International.) The recipient of the Winnipeg Transportation Club Scholarship is Rob Poapst Jr. (GroupHealth Global) and Scott Greenhalgh (Bison Transport) is the winner of the Edward Ewanochko Scholarship.

The winner of the Level 1 Transport Trailer Technician award is James Campbell (Gardewine North) and Dean Cote (Peterbilt Manitoba) is the recipient of the Level 1 Transport and Truck Mechanic. The Level 2 Transport and Truck Mechanic award winner is Terrence Degerness (Freightliner MB), and the Level 2 Transport Trailer Technician award goes to Mitchell Matity (Bison Transport.)

Academic scholarships are awarded to applicants that have the highest overall average in 4-40S subjects. The apprenticeship scholarships are awarded to the top Level 1 and Level 2 graduates in the Transport and Truck Mechanic and Trailer Technician Apprenticeship program. The Associated Trades Division generously sponsors the scholarship and the Level 2 apprenticeship awards in the amount of $1,000 each. The Vehicle Maintenance Council sponsors two awards in the amount of $1,000 each to the Level 1 apprentices. In addition, the Edward M. Ewanochko Transportation Scholarship is awarded in honour of Edward Ewanochko to promote professional growth within the truck transportation industry. The Winnipeg Transportation Club Scholarship award is awarded to assist students planning to study, or already pursuing post-secondary education in a field related to the transportation industry. The selection of these two scholarship recipients is based on a combination of academic achievement, community involvement and financial need.

Avatar photo

Truck News is Canada's leading trucking newspaper - news and information for trucking companies, owner/operators, truck drivers and logistics professionals working in the Canadian trucking industry.

Have your say

This is a moderated forum. Comments will no longer be published unless they are accompanied by a first and last name and a verifiable email address. (Today's Trucking will not publish or share the email address.) Profane language and content deemed to be libelous, racist, or threatening in nature will not be published under any circumstances.