Manitoba’s Best Drivers Move To Nationals, Driver of the Year Awarded

WINNIPEG — The Manitoba Trucking Association (MTA) has announced who will be representing the province in the national Professional Trucking Driving Championship (PTDC) in Abbotsford, BC on September 21. The MTA also recognized Mark Tricco of Bison Transport as their 2013 Manitoba Driver of the Year at the driving banquet on June 15.

Of the 32 drivers who competed in the PTDC, there can only be one winner in each category who will compete at nationals. Jason Novak of Canadian Freightways won in the straight truck category; in single-single, Con-way Freight’s Brian Hrabarchuk snagged top spot; Ronald Poirier of TST Overland Express was first place in single-tandem competition; H&T Trucking’s Howard McAfee was top dog in the tandem-tandem group; and Ken Wiebe of EBD Enterprises was the winner in super B train.

The PTDC event was held on June 15 and wrapped up with a banquet. It was there that Mark Tricco was recognized as MTA’s driver of the year.

The MTA release describes Tricco as dedicated to the industry and that his “training & focus on safety has resulted in a career with no preventable or non-preventable accidents.”

Tricco’s employer, Bison Transport, said “[Tricco] is the best of the best in our business.  He is the ultimate professional & we are privileged to have him representing not only our company but the industry as a whole.”

Having won the award provincially, Tricco is now eligible to win for the Canadian Trucking Alliance/Volvo Trucks Canada National Driver of the Year Award.

Have your say

This is a moderated forum. Comments will no longer be published unless they are accompanied by a first and last name and a verifiable email address. (Today's Trucking will not publish or share the email address.) Profane language and content deemed to be libelous, racist, or threatening in nature will not be published under any circumstances.