Michigan launches UCR enforcement blitz

LANSING, Mich. — Beginning this weekend, the Michigan State Police Traffic Safety Division will launch a weeklong enforcement blitz for Unified Carrier Registration compliance.

Starting July 12, truckers who are in violation could face a fine of up to $500 and/or 90 days in jail. Lack of registration is considered a misdemeanor.

All interstate and international motor carriers including brokers, freight forwarders and leasing companies must be registered.

The fees collected under the program are used for commercial vehicle safety and enforcement programs. Enforcement of the registration will continue after the weeklong check.

For more info or to register, contact the Michigan Public Service Commission at (517) 241-6030 or visit www.ucr.in.gov.


Have your say

This is a moderated forum. Comments will no longer be published unless they are accompanied by a first and last name and a verifiable email address. (Today's Trucking will not publish or share the email address.) Profane language and content deemed to be libelous, racist, or threatening in nature will not be published under any circumstances.