New AMTA board tasked with finding new executive

BANFF, Alta. — Dean Paisley, of Lethbridge Truck Terminals, was sworn in over the weekend as the Alberta Motor Transport Association’s new president.

Paisley took over the presidential duties from Westfreight Systems’ Richard Warnock during the AMTA’s annual general meeting on May 1, which was part of the association’s annual management conference in Banff, Alta.

Paisley says there would be a couple of challenges moving forward in 2010, including finding a way for the industry to bring in new drivers and provide them with the proper training to ensure a strong industry.

Another challenge for the AMTA in 2010, notes Paisley, will be finding a replacement for current executive director, Mayne Root, who plans to retire at the end of the year.

Also during the meeting, Carl Rosenau, president of Rosenau Transport, was voted by acclamation into the president-elect position.

The rest of the board of directors for the AMTA will include:

Darren Smith, Rosenau Transport — Southern Regional Director
Don Jackman, Envirosort Inc. — Central Regional Director
Ed Pierce, Capstan Hauling — NW Regional Director
Jo-Ann Gunn, Robyn’s Transport — Calgary Regional Director
Dan Duckering, Duckering’s Transport — Edmonton Regional Director
Rod Shopland, Night Hawk Truck Lines — NE Regional Director
Bob Hill, Hill Bros. Expressways — Director at Large
Gene Orlick, Orlick’s Transport — Director at Large
Greg Sokil, Sokil Express Lines — Director at Large
Jeffrey Readhead, Canadian Freightways — Director at Large

Have your say

This is a moderated forum. Comments will no longer be published unless they are accompanied by a first and last name and a verifiable email address. (Today's Trucking will not publish or share the email address.) Profane language and content deemed to be libelous, racist, or threatening in nature will not be published under any circumstances.