Truck News


Nominations open for Influential Woman in Trucking award

PLOVER, Wisc. – Nominations are open for the 2015 Influential Woman in Trucking award.

Now in its fifth year, the award recognizes women in the industry who make key decisions in a corporate, manufacturing, supplier, owner/operator, driver or sales setting. The winner will have a proven track record of responsibility and will have been a role model to other women in the industry.

The event was created in 2010 by Women in Trucking Association (WIT) and Navistar as a way to honour females in trucking and to attract women into the industry.

Past winners include: Marcia Taylor, Bennett International Group; Rebecca Brewster, president and COO, American Transportation Research Institute; Joyce Brenny, president of Brenny Transportation; and Rochelle Bartholomew, CEO of CalArk International.

“This award has become a great platform to gain visibility for the leadership of women in trucking,” said Lisa Hartenberger, director, Corporate Communications, Navistar. “As we’ve recognized the contributions of women in our industry, we’ve also had the opportunity to build dialogue around ways to promote further diversity.”

According to Navistar and WIT, almost 100 women were nominated last year for the award.

“This award supports our mission to celebrate the success of women in the trucking industry by highlighting women who have been pioneers and role models for those of us working in the transportation careers,” said Ellen Voie, president and CEO, Women In Trucking.

Nominations close January 31, 2015 and the winner will be announced at the Truckload Carriers Association convention in Orlando, Fla. March 8-11, 2015.

To nominate a candidate, please visit

Truck News

Truck News

Truck News is Canada's leading trucking newspaper - news and information for trucking companies, owner/operators, truck drivers and logistics professionals working in the Canadian trucking industry.
All posts by

Print this page
Related Articles

Have your say:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *