Ontario’s top drivers crowned at provincial championships

Avatar photo

CAMPBELLVILLE, Ont. — The Ontario Provincial Truck Driving Championships were held July 10 at Mohawk Raceway, setting the stage for the national event in Manitoba this September.

The event was comprised of top-placing drivers from the Toronto Regional championships and the Central Ontario regional driving championships.

About 80 drivers vied for a position on Team Ontario.

The winners were: Karen Proctor, Purolator, step van; Trevor-Lee Laronde, Miller Waste Systems, straight truck; Clay Ward, Con-Way Freight, single-single; Jeff MacLean, SLH Transport, single-tandem; Shawn Matheson, Home Hardware, tandem-tandem; and Brian Heyworth, SLH Transport, B-train.

This year, an exhibition A-train category was also included, with top honours going to Hugh Palmer of Con-Way Freight.

Home Hardware’s Matheson scored the top points on the day, earning him the Grand Champion Award and a ring to go with it. Heyworth won the Pre-Trip Award and the MTO Award while Rookie of the Year honours went to Rory Holland of Waste Management in Stoney Creek. The Bill Russel Award went to retired driver Ken Halloway.



Avatar photo

Truck News is Canada's leading trucking newspaper - news and information for trucking companies, owner/operators, truck drivers and logistics professionals working in the Canadian trucking industry.

Have your say

This is a moderated forum. Comments will no longer be published unless they are accompanied by a first and last name and a verifiable email address. (Today's Trucking will not publish or share the email address.) Profane language and content deemed to be libelous, racist, or threatening in nature will not be published under any circumstances.