Truck News


OTA board members named

TORONTO, Ont. -- The Ontario Trucking Association has named its board members for 2004-2006 term.

TORONTO, Ont. — The Ontario Trucking Association has named its board members for 2004-2006 term.

The election results were announced at the Annual General Meeting of the 78th annual OTA Convention, held Nov. 11 – 12 at the Toronto Congress Centre.

The association’s operations are guided by a 60-plus members Board of Directors, made up principally of chief executive officers, presidents and senior executives of trucking companies. The Chairman of the Board is elected from the ranks of the membership and serves a two-year term.
OTA’s new Chairman of the board is Scott Smith, CEO of Ontario TL/LTL carrier, J.D. Smith & Sons Ltd.

The following is a list of the other current OTA Board of Directors:

(Names with stars are members of the executive committee.)

Directors by Region:

James Thornton – JST Logistics Inc. (Barrie-Huronia)
Terry Jasper – Jasbro Truck Leasing Inc. (Brampton)
Doug Munro – Maritime-Ontario Freight Lines (Brampton)
Evan MacKinnon – MacKinnon Transport Inc. (Guelph)
Jeff Bryan – Jeff Bryan Transport (Haldimand-Norfolk)
Stan Dunford – Laidlaw Carriers Inc. (Haldimand-Norfolk) *
Brad Grant – Active Transport Inc. (Halton)
Ray Creaturo- Enfield Transportation Inc. (Halton)
Sam Kingma – Empire Transportation Ltd. (Hamilton-Wentworth)
Allan Ward – Sylvite Transportation Group (Hamilton-Wentworth) *
David Belley- Hyndman Transport (1972) Ltd. (Huron-Grey-Bruce)
Mike Norton – Compass Rose International Transportation (Kingston)
Peter Bergin – SLH Transport Inc. (Kingston)
David Neeb – Canco Transportation Services (Kitchener-Cambridge)
Ellen Poll – Drumbo Transport Limited (Kitchener-Cambridge)
Jeff Hall – J & R Hall Transport Inc. (Kitchener-Cambridge)
Julie Tanguay – L.E. Walker Transport Ltd. (London) *
Robert Ward – Voyageur Transportation Services (London)
Doug Smith – Manitoulin Transport Inc. (Manitoulin-Sudbury-Sault Ste. Marie)
Rob Penner – Bison Transport Inc. (Mississauga)
John Cyopeck – Canpar Transport L.P. (Mississauga) *
Rodger Leslie – Canada Cartage System Limited (Mississauga)
Gerry Lodwick – Lodwick Transport Limited (Muskoka-Haliburton)
Gord Grant – Grant’s Transport Limited (New Liskeard-Timmins) *
Kirk Zavitz – Zavcor Trucking Limited (Niagara)
Brian Glass – Pronorth Transportation (North Bay)
Norm Mackie – Mackie Moving Systems Corporation (Oshawa-Durham-Peterborough)
Bill Shannon – Shandex Truck Inc. (Oshawa-Durham-Peterborough)
Randy Veinotte – Harland Veinotte Limited (Ottawa-Brockville-Cornwall)
Mark Seymour – Kriska Transportation (Ottawa-Brockville-Cornwall) *
Steve Thibert – Tibbs Transport Inc. (Ottawa-Brockville-Cornwall)
Mike McCarron – MSM Transportation Inc. (Peel)
John Caseley – Trendway Transportation Services Inc. (Peel)
John McKevitt – McKevitt Trucking Ltd. (Thunder Bay)
Rick Gaetz – Vitran Corporation Inc. (Toronto Centre) *
Don Anderson – Don Anderson Haulage Limited (Toronto East)
Chris Gleason – Lions Delivery Service Limited (Toronto East)
Peter Lobraico – OK Transportation Limited (Toronto East)
James Thomson – Thomson Terminals Limited (Toronto West)
Ivan Service – Atripco Delivery Service (Toronto West)
Serge Gagnon – XTL Transport Inc. (Toronto West) *
Scott Smith – J.D. Smith and Sons Limited – OTA Board Chairman (Vaughan-Concord-Markham)
Norm Sneyd – Highland Transport (Vaughan-Concord-Markham)
Ron Tepper – Consolidated Fastfrate Inc. (Vaughan-Concord-Markham)
Vernon Erb – Erb Transport Ltd. (Waterloo-Wellington)
Ron Martin – Bridgeland Terminals Limited (Waterloo-Wellington)
Harold Heffernan – Celadon Canada Inc. (Waterloo-Wellington)
Robin Miller – Ram Contract Carriers Limited (Windsor-Sarnia)
Steve Ondejko – Onfreight Logistics (Windsor-Sarnia)


Rolly Uloth – Rosedale Transport Ltd.
Ron Titus – Purolator Courier Ltd.
Walter Scott – McArthur Express
Brian Taylor – Liberty Linehaul Inc. *
Gary Babcock – Quik X Transportation Inc. *
Allan Robison – Reimer Express Lines Limited
Gary King – TST Solutions L.P.
Pete Dalmazzi – Ryder Logistics
Scott Tilley – The Tandet Group
Mark Bylsma – Spring Creek Carriers Inc.
Willy Hamel – Trimac Transportation Services Inc.
John Smith – Bruce R. Smith Limited
Craig Cottrell – PCY Carriers Inc.
James Steed – Steed Standard Transport Limited
Geoff Davies – ICS Courier Services
Paul Poirier – Minimax Express Transportation
Richard Muir – Muir’s Cartage Ltd.
John Brown – Labatt Breweries Ontario
Stan Dawson – Hudson’s Bay Transport
Dale Cundick – Budmar Transport Inc.

Affiliated Associations:

Peter Di Tecco – Armbro Transport Inc. (Toronto Trucking Association)

OTA Allied Trades Division:

Gord Box – Provincial Trailer Rentals
Ray Carey – Freightliner Trucks *
Bob Crutchlow – Cummins Eastern Canada LP

Past OTA Chairmen:

George Ledson – Cavalier Transportation Services (2002-2004) *
Dan Einwechter – Challenger Motor Freight Ltd. (1998-2000) *
Paul Hammond – Muskoka Transport Inc. (1996-1998) *
Paul Leader – Atlas Van Lines (Canada) Ltd. (1994-1996) *
Evan Meyers – Meyers Transport Ltd. (1992-1994) *
William Mackinnon – Mackinnon Transport Inc. (1978-1980) *

Truck News

Truck News

Truck News is Canada's leading trucking newspaper - news and information for trucking companies, owner/operators, truck drivers and logistics professionals working in the Canadian trucking industry.
All posts by

Print this page
Related Articles

Have your say:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *