Truck News


Peterbilt’s 75th anniversary celebration makes history

DENTON, Texas– The largest collection of Peterbilt trucks ever assembled – 351 in total –  were on display at the company’s 75th anniversary show at the San Joaquin Fairgrounds in Stockton, Calif.

Peterbilt customers, employees and enthusiasts attended the event in the thousands.

“It was impressive beyond words. The turnout exceeded even my high expectations. With the exception of two or three, every model of Peterbilt ever manufactured was represented here – from the first chassis in 1939 to the latest Model 579,” said Rick McClerkin, who created and organized the event.

The anniversary celebration also featured a luncheon and a people’s-choice truck beauty contest.

“As our 75th anniversary celebrations are coming to a close, there is no better tribute than the outpouring of loyalty and love for the Peterbilt brand that was on display during the Stockton show,” said Darrin Siver, Peterbilt general manager and Paccar vice-president. “We thank everyone who was in attendance and every truck owner who proudly brought their Peterbilt to this historic event.”

The Peterbilt anniversary tour trailer was on display for the celebration as well. The trailer –a customer-built, double expandable 53-footer– visited more than 100 Peterbilt dealerships across the continent over the last year.

The winners of the people’s choice truck beauty contest were as follows:

Antique Cabover Bobtail

First Place – Wayne Newhouse, 1955 Peterbilt Model 350

Second Place – Donald Bourgeois, 1971 Peterbilt Model 282

Third Place – George Van Dyke, Peterbilt Model 352

Antique Conventional Bobtail

First Place – Juan Gonzalez, 1957 Model 351

Second Place – Jessie Maggini, 1962 Peterbilt Model 351

Third Place – Fremont Fire Department Local 1689, 1939 S100 Fire Truck

Contemporary Bobtail

First Place – Guy Schrno, 1998 Peterbilt Model 379

Second Place – Forrestt Noble, 2013 Peterbilt Model 389

Third Place – Michael Dusi, 2013 Peterbilt Model 389


First Place – Ray Rodriguez, 2015 Peterbilt Model 389

Second Place – Chris Hasty, 2008 Peterbilt Model 389

Third Place – Jerry Mies, 2013 Peterbilt Model 389

Truck News

Truck News

Truck News is Canada's leading trucking newspaper - news and information for trucking companies, owner/operators, truck drivers and logistics professionals working in the Canadian trucking industry.
All posts by

Print this page
Related Articles

Have your say:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *