PMTC recognizes safe fleets, drivers

NIAGARA-ON-THE-LAKE, Ont. — Two fleets and four drivers got much deserved recognition from the Private Motor Truck Council (PMTC) during the council’s annual conference on June 19.

The fleet awards were open to all Canadian private carriers and were sponsored by Zurich. Judging was conducted by an independent panel and followed an established criteria that concentrates on the company’s overall safety regime and its over the road record.

For 2009, the winner in the Small Fleet Category was Pro Distribution Services, while the Large Fleet Category winner was Huron Services Group Ltd. / TONA Transport.

“Zurich’s support of these fleet safety awards is tangible recognition of their commitment to truck safety, a commitment that is shared with PMTC. Recognizing fleets with excellent safety records not only rewards the recipients but can stand as examples to other fleets and provide targets for which they can reach,” says Bruce Richards, president of PMTC.

Pro Distribution Services has won this award five times in the past 12 years. They have operated the fleet for 26 years, delivering dated material such as weekly flyers to 200 plus newspapers.

This small fleet operates with six power units and 13 trailers, and ran close to 100,000 km in each of the last three years, while maintaining a clean CVOR – that is to say that their overall violation rate is zero.

The Huron Services / Tona Transport fleet consists of 42 power units and 200 trailers and operates domestically, as well as to and from the U.S. The fleet handles both hazardous and non-hazardous material and is FAST, C-TPAT, and CSA approved.


PMTC also inducted 4 drivers into the Hall of Fame for Professional Drivers during the conference.

The Hall of Fame is sponsored by Huron Services Group Inc. and recognizes superior over the road performance by drivers whose companies are members of the PMTC.

The 2009 inductees are: Daniel Pilon with Tona Transport, Robert Miller of The TDL Group, John O’Connell with Global Driver Services, and Bruce Hulley with Sparling’s Propane.

Combined, the four inductees have 127 years of experience and not one at-fault or preventable incident.

Have your say

This is a moderated forum. Comments will no longer be published unless they are accompanied by a first and last name and a verifiable email address. (Today's Trucking will not publish or share the email address.) Profane language and content deemed to be libelous, racist, or threatening in nature will not be published under any circumstances.