Quat-Row: TodaysTrucking.com wins another KRW

TORONTO — Amidst frequent Stanley Cup updates from the awards presenters at Toronto’s Old Mill Restaurant last night, editors with Newcom Business Media scored a hat-trick, carting home three awards in the annual competition for the best of business journalism in Canada.

For the fourth year in a row, this website has captured a top prize at the prestigious Kenneth R. Wilson Awards (KRW), held by the Canadian Business Press.

A staff effort, Todaystrucking.com took the Silver Award for Best Website. It is the only transport-related online resource that has ever received a KRW; and no other magazine site in Canada has been honored with a Gold or Silver in each of the four years since the website category was first introduced.

Websites are judged on visual appearance, navigability, freshness, and of course, content.

In the writing categories, Transport Routier editor, Steve Bouchard aced the "Best How-to or Series of How-to Articles" category with his submission, "C-TPAT 101." The story explained the ins and outs of applying for C-TPAT certification to small and medium sized trucking fleets.

highwaySTAR magazine editor, Jim Park, netted a Silver in the Best Editorial category with his tribute to fallen driver David Virgoe, "The Selfish and the Selfless."

Other Newcom nominated articles were also given Top 5 honorable mentions. They include:

"As the world churns," and "Slow Workers Ahead" by Marco Beghetto, (Today’s Trucking).

And "Les voituriers-remorqueurs sont–ils des employées?" and "Jupes et autres atours," by Steve Bouchard (Transport Routier).

Allan Jansen, editor of our sister magazine Canadian Technician, got a Top 5 for "Working in the dark."

Since 1994, Newcom’s trucking publications and website have been awarded nine Gold, 11 Silver, and 17 Top Five honorable mentions.

Today’s Trucking alone is one of the winningest trade magazines in all of Canada.

Have your say

We won't publish or share your data