Six top Manitoba drivers recognized

Avatar photo

WINNIPEG, Man. — Six Manitoba drivers have been rewarded for their professionalism by the Manitoba Trucking Association and Custom Truck Sales.

The Industry Excellence Awards were presented this week to drivers who display a superior commitment to safety, customer service and dedication to their industry. Nominations are accepted from anyone who has been positively impacted by a driver’s service.

Winners of the MTA-Custom Truck Sales Industry Excellence Awards were: Jacob Wiebe, Cheval Transport; Robert Yablonski, Payne Transportation; Donald Lister, Canada Safeway; Randal Panko, Heartland Transport; William DeGroot, Arnold Bros. Transport; and Gustav Giesbrecht, YRC Reimer.

“The six drivers we honoured today exemplify the dedication, sacrifice and skill required to be an elite driver,” said Tom Payne Jr., president of the Manitoba Trucking Association. “Many recipients current and past have millions of incident-free miles on their record; these drivers are the best of the best when it comes to drivers in Manitoba.”

The winners received a plaque, a letter of congratulations from Transport Minister Steve Ashton, a custom Industry Excellence jacket and a small honorarium. One of the six winners will be named Manitoba Driver of the Year in June.

Avatar photo

Truck News is Canada's leading trucking newspaper - news and information for trucking companies, owner/operators, truck drivers and logistics professionals working in the Canadian trucking industry.

Have your say

This is a moderated forum. Comments will no longer be published unless they are accompanied by a first and last name and a verifiable email address. (Today's Trucking will not publish or share the email address.) Profane language and content deemed to be libelous, racist, or threatening in nature will not be published under any circumstances.