Wayne Henninger wins APTA safety award

HALIFAX – Wayne Henninger, safety director at Atlantic Pacific Transport in Clairville, N.B., was honored with the Markel-sponsored Safety to Motor Transportation award at the 56th annual Atlantic Provinces Trucking Association convention yesterday. During a luncheon ceremony he accepted the award from Dave Gaskin, manager of safety & training services at Markel Insurance Company of Canada.

Henninger is perhaps best known as a former regional enforcement manager for the New Brunswick Department of Transportation.

Wayne Henninger, middle, with wife Jeanette, accepts the Safety
to Motor Transportation award from Markel’s Dave Gaskin

Jacques Cormier, also of Atlantic Pacific Transport, won the Dispatcher of the Year prize sponsored by Cancom Tracking Solutions.

And a third member of the Donnie Fillmore Sr. team (he owns Atlantic Pacific and Fillmore Trucking) won the Good Samaritan award sponsored by Marine Atlantic. Charlie Richards, a driver with PBR Trucking, a small owner-operator fleet contracted to Fillmore, raced two miles upstream, as it were, to halt a speeding passenger train when he noticed a vehicle stuck on the tracks.

Another major award of the day was the Atlantic Provinces Driver of the Year, sponsored by Volvo and won by Herb Peters of Day & Ross. A perennial winner of regional driving championships and one national prize, Peters has driven more than 3 million kilometers without a preventable accident over the last 25 years. He was not on hand to collect his prize.

The annual Trailmobile Service to Industry Award was won by the late Lionel Clark of the Clarke Road Transport division of Clarke Inc. in Halifax. Trailmobile Canada vice president Bert Clay presented the coveted award to Clark’s wife, Carol Anne.

Have your say

This is a moderated forum. Comments will no longer be published unless they are accompanied by a first and last name and a verifiable email address. (Today's Trucking will not publish or share the email address.) Profane language and content deemed to be libelous, racist, or threatening in nature will not be published under any circumstances.