Truck News


APTA selects new executive at AGM

SAINT JOHN, N.B. - Members of the Atlantic Provinces Trucking Association (APTA) came together to form a new executive body for 2005-2006 during their annual general meeting held during the 55th annua...

SAINT JOHN, N.B. – Members of the Atlantic Provinces Trucking Association (APTA) came together to form a new executive body for 2005-2006 during their annual general meeting held during the 55th annual APTA conference Oct. 27-29.

The meat of the meeting began as LeeAnn McConnell gave her last report as APTA chairperson, thanking the APTA executive, the board of directors and the general membership for all their help and support during her term.

“It has been a valuable experience to learn and grow with the association,” she said during the Oct. 28 meeting. “As most of you know, recently the association has seen a number of changes. I believe these changes place us at a pivotal point for creating opportunities and implementing strategic change within the APTA. The next few months will be a very exciting time for the association as we move forward with new structure and initiatives.”

Changes to the APTA include the recent departure of Ralph Boyd, former APTA president, and Chris McKee, former publications and communications representative.

The position of president has not yet been filled since Boyd’s Sept. 22 exit, though McConnell said they expect to have a new leader fairly soon.

“We fully expect to have a new executive director by Dec. 1,” she told members.

McKee continues to work with the APTA as part-time managing editor its magazine, Atlantic Trucking.

Vaughn Sturgeon of Warren Transport Ltd, based in Rexton, N.B. has since been elected to fill McConnell’s position as chairperson.

“I am honoured to be elected to this position by a group of my peers who I have such high regard for,” Sturgeon said. “I am following a very strong chairperson who has really set the bar for commitment and dedication to the position, and I hope to follow that example. I look forward to leading the board at a pivotal point for creating opportunities and implementing strategic change within the Association.”

Sturgeon said industry awareness, improved board governance and increased membership will play a key role in his mandate as chairperson.

“As members of the APTA, we need to get out there and promote the industry and tackle our image problems head on. I look forward to working with the board and executive to increase our involvement in this aspect of the Association’s mission. Our commitment to safety and the environment is not recognized by the general public and we need to work to change that,” he said. ” We also need to develop better relationships with smaller transport companies to assist them in coping with rising costs in the industry such as fuel and insurance. Truck transportation is the only mode of transport that can provide the flexible, timely, and reliable “just-in-time” delivery that is demanded in today’s marketplace and we must be properly compensated for it. Overall, the trucking industry has always faced many challenges but the people who choose to work in this business are resilient, strong business people so I am confident that through the APTA, we can continue to work together to build a better industry over the next two years.”

In addition to Sturgeon’s appointment and the election of a new board of directors, the APTA has also announced that Heather MacLean has joined the APTA full-time as coordinator, projects and policy. MacLean has been with the APTA for more than a year now as project officer. In her new position, she will work closely with the executive, the executive director, and the board to develop policy, coordinate various projects, and assist with the current affairs of the association. She will also assist the executive director in the day-to-day management of the office.


The following is the APTA Board of Directors for the year 2005/2006 as selected by members at the APTA’s 55th Annual General Meeting:


* Chairperson – Vaughn Sturgeon, Warren Transport Ltd., Rexton, N.B.

* 1st Vice Chairman – Gordon Peddle, D.D. Transport Ltd., Mt. Pearl, Nfld.

* 2nd Vice Chairman – Gerry Dowden, East Can Transport Services Ltd., St. John’s, Nfld.

* Secretary/Treasurer – Jean St. Onge, Midland Transport Limited, Dartmouth, N.S.

* Past Chairman – Lee Ann McConnell, McConnell Transport Ltd., Woodstock, N.B.

Directors: New Brunswick

* Wes Armour, Armour Transportation Systems, Moncton

* Richard Boone, Professional Carriers Inc., Landsdown

* Dwayne Donnelly, Donnelly Farms Ltd., Hartland

* Shane Esson, Keltic Transportation Inc., Moncton (N.B. Vice Chairman)

* Donnie Fillmore Sr., Fillmore Trucking Inc., Clairville

* Debby Gioia, Elite Fleet, Moncton

* Graydon Murphy, R.E.M. Transport Ltd., St. Stephen

* Gordon McAuley, McAuley’s Transfer Ltd., Centreville

* Lee Ann McConnell, McConnell Transport Ltd, Woodstock

* Todd Seward, Sunbury Transport Limited, Fredericton

Nova Scotia

* Gerald Battist, Gerald Battist Trucking Ltd, New Glasgow

* Lionel Clark, Clarke Road Transport division of Clarke Inc., Halifax

* John Doucet, Day & Ross Transportation Group, Dartmouth (N.S. Vice Chairman)

* Paul Easson, Eassons Transport Limited, Berwick

* Brian Hicks, Albany Cartage Co. Ltd. / Cement Cartage Co. Ltd., Brookfield

* Eddie Hillman, Hillman’s Transfer Ltd., Sydney River

* Tom MacDonald, Tom MacDonald Trucking Ltd., Sydney River

* Peter Macgillivray, Trimac Transportation Services, Dartmouth

* Vaughn Sturgeon, Warren Transport Ltd., Bridgewater

* Jean St. Onge, Midland Transport Limited, Dartmouth

Prince Edward Island

* Frank Barry, Prince Freight Lines Inc., Wellington

* John MacLean, MacLean’s Ready Mix Concrete Ltd., Montague (P.E.I Vice Chairman)


* Gerry Dowden, East Can Transport Services Ltd., St. John’s (Nlfd. Vice Chairman)

* Gordon Peddle, D.D. Transport Ltd., Mount Pearl

* Marvin Way, Way’s Transport Ltd., Cornerbrook

Carrier Directors at Large

* Jean Marc Desilets, Down-East Transport Ltd., Dieppe, N.B.

Owner-Operator/Broker Directors

* Mike Walton, Mike Walton Trucking, Hartland, N.B.

Safety Council Director

* Barry Mellish, Atlantic Tiltload, Dartmouth, N.S. (Safety Council Chairman)

Associated Trades Directors

* Doug Banfield, Parts for Trucks, Inc., Dartmouth, N.S. (Associated Trades Council Chairman)

* Luc Belliveau, Detroit Diesel, Memramcook, N.B.

* David MacKay, MacKay’s Truck and Trailer Service Center, Truro, N.S.

* Germaine (Jerry) O’Neill, Cummins Eastern Canada LP, Fredericton, N.B.

Ex-Officio Directors

* Janet Hull, Benefits Experts, Bridgewater, N.S.

* John Lochhead, Marine Atlantic Inc., North Sydney, N.S.

Honorary Directors

* Robert (Bob) Briggs, Dartmouth, N.S.

* William Easson, Berwick, N.S.

* J. Lowell Hogg, Cornwall, P.E.I

* Arthur Howard, Cornwall, P.E.I

* Norris Kitson, Charlottetown, P.E.I

* Douglas Moffat, Truro, N.S.

* Roland Perry
, Hartland, N.B. n

Print this page

1 Comment » for APTA selects new executive at AGM
  1. Kryssie Urquhart says:

    I was looking through Google and happened to stumble upon this website. I was was looking for someone that our family had lost touch with that as of last my mom heard of him he was in NS ….. his name was Bob Briggs …. i was wondering if it was the same one that we knew …. used to drive for Day and Ross ….. if so email me please ….. If not sorry to waste your time.

Have your say:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *