Manitoba driving champs, safety award winners named

WINNIPEG, Man. — Denis Roberts of TST Overland Express was named Grand Champion at the Manitoba Provincial Truck Driving Championships held June 20 at Peterbilt Manitoba.

Roberts also won the tandem-tandem division.

Other category winners included: Bill O’Neil, GFL Environmental, straight truck; Brian Hrabarchuk, Canadian Freightways, single-single; Greg Muzychka, Canadian Freightways, single-tandem; and Ken Wiebe, EBD Enterprises, Super-B.

The above winners will go on to represent Manitoba at the Nationals later this year in Regina, Sask.

Other event winners recognized at the banquet included Trent Klassen, Dave Greschuk and Bill Henderson, who finished first through third respectively in the new Instructor’s Category.

The J.O. Dutton Award went to Ronald Poirier of TST Overland Express. Straight truck winner O’Neil won the First Time Entrant award and Canadian Freightways won the Team Award.

Canadian Freightways’ Hrarbarchuk won the Bjornson Memorial Trophy.

Organizers also presented 10 Industry Excellence awards for safe driving. Recipients included: Craig Stinson (TransX Group of Companies); David Collins (Arnold Bros. Transport); Les Dutchyshen (Arnold Bros. Transport); Delmer Thiessen (Steve’s Livestock Transport); Edward Hogg (Bison Transport); Kirk Cassidy (TransX Group of Companies); Murray Slack (TransX Group of Companies); Robert Rudyk (Bison Transport); Robin Dophiede (Arnold Bros. Transport); and William Collicutt (Sobey’s). From this pool of drivers, the annual Volvo Trucks Canada Manitoba Driver of the Year is selected.

Team Manitoba will compete in the Nationals this fall.
Team Manitoba will compete in the Nationals this fall.
Avatar photo

James Menzies is editor of Today's Trucking. He has been covering the Canadian trucking industry for more than 20 years and holds a CDL. Reach him at or follow him on Twitter at @JamesMenzies.

Have your say

This is a moderated forum. Comments will no longer be published unless they are accompanied by a first and last name and a verifiable email address. (Today's Trucking will not publish or share the email address.) Profane language and content deemed to be libelous, racist, or threatening in nature will not be published under any circumstances.