Alberta Truckers Crown Driving Champs

Paul Mills took home 1st place in Tandem, Tandem, as well as the title of Grand Champion.

CALGARY – The Alberta Motor Transport Association (AMTA) held their annual Truck Driving Championships on June 16, and it looks like drivers from Canadian Freightways dominated the competition.

While Paul Mills of Canada Safeway took the title of Grand Champion, the Canadian Freightways team won the Team Award, and members placed handsomely in every category:

Straight Truck Division

First Place: Keith Franklin – Canadian Freightways

Second Place: Randy James Smith – Canadian Freightways

Third Place: Kevin Corscadden – Sokil Express

Single, Single Division

First Place: Calvin Briggs – Grimshaw Trucking

Second Place: Darren Tychkowsky – Fed-Ex Freight

Third Place: Kent Friesen – Canadian Freightways

Single Tandem Division

First Place: Rick Ross – Canadian Freightways

Second Place: Gordon Lowen – Grimshaw Trucking

Third Place: Rob Pirzek – YRC Reimer Express

Tandem, Tandem Division

First Place: Paul Mills – Canada Safeway

Second Place: Rod Harrison – Canadian Freightways

Third Place: Kevin Chapman – Orlicks Transport

B-Train Division

First Place: Lonni Wilton – Canadian Freightways

Second Place: Steve Calhoun – Canadian Freightways

Third Place: Jim Pennington – Sokil Express

Grand Champion

Paul Mills – Canada Safeway

Rookie of the Year

Andre Roy – Bison Transport

Team Award

Canadian Freightways – Calgary

Each driver had to demonstrate their driving and inspection skills, knowledge and professionalism through a series of tests. The competition included a written exam, a personal interview, pre-trip inspection test and the driving skills test.

Finalists in each of five categories move on to compete at the National Truck Driving Championships, held in Moncton, New Brunswick later this year.

Have your say

We won't publish or share your data