AMTA elects new directors, hands out industry awards

BANFF, Alta. (May 7, 2004) — The Alberta Motor Transport Association’s annual general meeting and management conference concluded this week in Banff, Alta., and as always, several executive changes were made and awards handed out.

Wayne Pedersen from Pedersen Transport Ltd. became the new President of the AMTA for the 2004-05 season, while Tom Kenny from Westcan Bulk Transport Ltd. became Past-President. The new President-Elect is Jim Davis from Economy Carriers Ltd. Meanwhile, Jeff Taylor from Gibson Energy Ltd. and Henry Van Steenbergen from Legal Freight Services Ltd. have been elected to the board for two-year terms, while Greg Sokil from Sokil Express Lines Ltd. has been elected for a one-year term.

The 2003-04 Past President John Finn from Exalta Transport took home the Service to the Industry Award, and Guy Blasetti of Big Horn Transport was presented with the 2004 Safety Person of the Year Award. Roland Mullen, who’s retired from Mullen Transportation, was presented with the Historical Award. Darrell Spencer from Kal-Tire was also presented with the Associate Trades Award.

This year’s Driver of the Year Award went to John Lucey of Hi-Way 9 Express Ltd. Lucey, a driver for 35 years, has racked up almost three million accident-free miles.

Have your say

This is a moderated forum. Comments will no longer be published unless they are accompanied by a first and last name and a verifiable email address. (Today's Trucking will not publish or share the email address.) Profane language and content deemed to be libelous, racist, or threatening in nature will not be published under any circumstances.