Armour driver named best in Atlantic Canada

ST. JOHN’S, Nfld. (Nov. 3, 2003) — The Atlantic Provinces Trucking Association has named Georges Leblanc, a 32-year veteran with Moncton-based Armour Transportation, the Volvo Trucks Canada Driver of the Year at this year’s APTA convention.

Leblanc, a native of Memramcook, N.B., has racked up over 3.5 million accident-free miles for Armour, the only company he’s ever worked for as a driver.

Other award winners include:

Randall MacIntee, who was honoured for his commitment to the trucking industry, was handed the 2003 Service to the Industry Award. MacIntee is president of R.E.M. Transport in St. Stephen, N.B. The award is sponsored by Trailmobile Canada.

Diana Ross, of Halifax-based Clarke Road Transport’s safety and compliance department, was recognized with the 2003 APTA Safety To Motor Transportation Award. Ross is responsible for hiring and screening drivers, as well as overseeing accident investigations for her company.

The APTA also awarded truck driver Wilbert Collins with the 2003 Good Samaritan Award. Collins, a driver for Tramsco Inc. in St. John’s, was honoured for his outstanding leadership role in organizing “The Teddy Bear Convoy” for the Janeway Children’s Hospital. Over 60 trucks participated in the convoy raising over $16,000.

The Dispatcher of the Year Award was presented to Glen Dowden also of St. John’s. Glen has been a dispatcher with East Can Transport Services for the past 11 years.

Have your say

This is a moderated forum. Comments will no longer be published unless they are accompanied by a first and last name and a verifiable email address. (Today's Trucking will not publish or share the email address.) Profane language and content deemed to be libelous, racist, or threatening in nature will not be published under any circumstances.