Truck News


STA hosts 77th annual management conference

SASKATOON, Sask. — This weekend saw the Saskatchewan’s Trucking Association’s 77th Annual General Meeting and Gala in Saskatoon, Sask.

The event ran all day and kept attendees informed and entertained.

The day began with a panel discussion on the regulatory horizon for the trucking world from industry experts, Blair Wagar, assistant deputy minister for policy and programs of the Ministry of Highways & Infrastructure, Andy Cipywnyk, manager of trucking policy of the Ministry of Highways & Infrastructure, and Earl Cameron, the vice-president of SGI Auto Fund.

The day also saw the STA’s annual business meeting where the association’s financials and the board of directors were discussed.

After a short break, (enough time for the ladies to get their lipstick on, and the men to put on a tie) the Presidents’ Reception took place for an opportunity to network and get settled before it was dinner and awards time. During the reception and cocktail hour, guests were invited to bid on the silent auction which saw items like classic NHL jerseys and stylish Invicta watches.

The special guest of the evening was Nancy Heppner, the Minister of Highways & Infrastructure who said a few words about the STA and the transportation industry.

“The work that you do is critical to the prosperity of our province,” she said. “On behalf of the people of Saskatchewan I want to thank all of you for the work that you do and your continued contribution to our province.”

After dinner, the buffet area was transformed into a casino night where a bunch of tables featuring different card games were open to guests who were given funny money to bet with. For those who weren’t the gambling type, a set of identical magic performers walked around impressing guests with their comedy and magic act.

The awards handed out at the STA’s dinner and gala were as follows:

STA Milestone Awards:

  • Jay’s Group of Companies
  • Redhead Equipment
  • Kramer Ltd.
  • Peterbilt
  • Acklands-Grainger

Dispatcher of the Year Award (sponsored and presented by Cervus Equipment Peterbilt):

  • Joe Chernick (D.J. Knoll Transport)

Driver of the Year Award (sponsored and presented by Volvo Trucks Canada):

  • Lori Franklin (D.J. Knoll Transport)

Service to the Industry Award (sponsored and presented by Shaw Tracking):

  • Dennis Diehl


Sonia Straface

Sonia Straface

Sonia Straface is the associate editor of Truck News and Truck West magazines. She graduated from Ryerson University's journalism program in 2013 and enjoys writing about health and wellness and HR issues surrounding the transportation industry. Follow her on Twitter: @SoniaStraface.
All posts by

Print this page

1 Comment » for STA hosts 77th annual management conference
  1. Sonia Treble says:

    Congratulations on your success, Blair – we went to highschool together in the late 60s but I doubt you’d remember me.

Have your say:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *