Former grand champion repeats as winner at B.C. Professional Truck Driving Championships

Avatar photo

LANGLEY, B.C. – A repeat winner claimed his third grand champion title at the B.C. 2014 Professional Truck Driving Championships.

Dean Grant, a Duncan, B.C.-based driver for Agrifoods International Co-op, was the overall winner of both the 2009 and 2010 events, and was also a member of the B.C. team that won the national team competition in 2008. This year, in the process of winning the straight truck class, he also reclaimed his grand champion crown, and will be moving on to the Canadian finals in Esterel,Quebec as the top driver in British Columbia.

Joining him will be on the trip east will be rookie of the year Stephen Scott, who drives for Simard Westlink. Also making up the B.C. team will be the winners of each individual class: independent Evan Hirst (single-single), Fountain Tire’s Dale Scott (single-tandem), Brian Meredith of McRae’s Environmental Services (tandem-tandem) and Lorne Roadhouse from Overland West Freight Lines Ltd. (super B-train). Both Scott and Roadhouse were also class winners in 2013.

Rob Balan, who drives for Ocean Trailer, earned the 2014 safety award and a group of drivers (Dean Grant, Evan Hirst, Dale Scott, Rob Balan, and Jose Lecinana ) entered as Independent Team #2 won the team title.

The Championships were organized by the British Columbia Trucking Association (BCTA) and the Trucking Safety Council of B.C., with sponsorship support from Inland Kenworth, B&W Insurance, Bridgestone Canada, Husky Energy and Overland West, WorkSafeBC, Teamsters 31 and BFL Insurance Services. Equipment was provided by Simard Westlink, Ken Johnson Trucking, YRC Reimer, FedEx, Overland West Freightlines, Home Hardware, Harbour International, and Ocean Trailer.

Complete list of top finishers

Grand Champion
Dean Grant, Duncan, Agrifoods International Co-op

Rookie of the Year
Stephen Scott, Simard Westlink

Safety Award
Rob Balan, Surrey, Ocean Trailer

Team Trophy
Independent Team #2: Dean Grant, Evan Hirst, Dale Scott, Rob Balan, and Jose Lecinana

Straight Truck
1st Place: Dean Grant, Duncan, Agrifoods International Co-op
2nd Place: John Lawley, Abbotsford, YRC Reimer
3rd Place: Danny Wilson, Langley, Mindful Trucking Inc.

1st Place: Evan Hirst, Richmond, Independent
2nd Place: Jose Lecinana, Sooke, Independent
3rd Place: Terry Loftus, YRC Reimer

1st Place: Dale Scott, Mission, Fountain Tire (sponsor)
2nd Place: Gord Foster, Coquitlam, YRC Reimer
3rd Place: Jaswinder Diyal, Surrey, TransX Ltd.

1st Place: Brian Meredith, Surrey, McRae’s Environmental Services
2nd Place: John Broker, Port Coquitlam, Martin Brower
3rd Place: Andy Clark, Langley, Overland West Freight Lines Ltd.

Super B-Train
1st Place: Lorne Roadhouse, Langley, Overland West Freight Lines Ltd.
2nd Place: David Lighton, Surrey, Air Liquide
3rd Place: Tyson Homan, Langley, Ken Johnson Trucking Ltd.

Avatar photo

Truck News is Canada's leading trucking newspaper - news and information for trucking companies, owner/operators, truck drivers and logistics professionals working in the Canadian trucking industry.

Have your say

This is a moderated forum. Comments will no longer be published unless they are accompanied by a first and last name and a verifiable email address. (Today's Trucking will not publish or share the email address.) Profane language and content deemed to be libelous, racist, or threatening in nature will not be published under any circumstances.