Truck News


Canadians shine at annual CVSA inspectors championship

ST. LOUIS, Mo. –Two Canadian truck inspectors shined at this year’s Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance’s (CVSA) North American Inspectors Championship.

Every year, the CVSA recognizes the best inspectors by inviting member jurisdictions throughout the continent to participate in the championships, the only event dedicated to recognizing and awarding commercial vehicle inspector excellence. This year the event took place Aug. 10-14 in St. Louis, Missouri.

Steve McPherson, an Ontario Ministry of Transportation truck inspector, came out on top of the competition placing first in the North American Standard Level I Inspection.

The Highest Points award for Canada was given to Darren Kennedy of the British Columbia Ministry of Transportation and Infrastructure.

The championships saw a total of 51 participants this year and the following awards were also presented during this year’s NAIC:

High Points: United States
J.D. Berrong, North Carolina State Highway Patrol

North American Standard Level I Inspection:
First Place – Steve McPherson, Ontario Ministry of Transportation
Second place – Andrew Stapleton, South Dakota Highway Patrol
Third Place – Carlos Rojas, Alaska Department of Public Safety

North American Standard Hazardous Materials/Transportation of Dangerous Goods and Cargo Tank/Bulk Packagings Inspection:
First Place – Reagan Droddy, Texas Department of Public Safety
Second Place – Nicolas Wright, Kansas Highway Patrol
Third Place – Charles Shaver, Tennessee Highway Patrol

North American Standard Level V Passenger Vehicle (Motorcoach) Inspection:
First Place – Eric McGuire, Florida Highway Patrol
Second Place – James Hamrick, Arkansas Highway Police
Third Place – Mike Watts, Alberta Justice & Solicitor General

Team Award – Orange Team:
Jason Harris, Alabama Law Enforcement Agency
Daniel Voelker, Arizona Department of Public Safety
Rhonda Wood, Kentucky State Police
Mike Miller, New Jersey State Police
J.D. Berrong, North Carolina State Highway Patrol
Steve McPherson, Ontario Ministry of Transportation
Charles Shaver, Tennessee Highway Patrol
Scott Parsons, Virginia State Police

The Grand Champion Award was awarded to J.D. Berrong with the North Carolina State Highway Patrol for his combined performances in six competition elements:

  1. North American Standard Level I Inspection
  2. North American Standard Level I Inspection Procedure
  3. North American Standard Hazmat/Transportation of Dangerous Goods Inspection
  4. North American Standard Cargo Tank/Other Bulk Packagings Inspection
  5. North American Standard Level V Passenger Vehicle (Motorcoach) Inspection
  6. North American Standard Out-of-Service Criteria Exam

The John Youngblood Award of Excellence is a special award NAIC contestants bestow on a fellow NAIC inspector who exemplifies the high standards and unwavering dedication to the profession. This year, NAIC contestants voted to present the John Youngblood Award to Brad Mitchell with the Oklahoma Highway Patrol.

“NAIC contestants are not only tested in the competition, they also learn throughout the week about the latest CMV safety trends, technologies, standards and inspection procedures,” said CVSA President Maj. Bill Reese of the Idaho State Police. “The North American Inspectors Championship tests and educates inspectors, providing a well-rounded educational opportunity along with the healthy competitive spirit that has guided and made this competition successful and a goal for top aspiring inspectors for the past 23 years.”

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration Chief Counsel Scott Darling also commented: “Commercial vehicle inspectors are skilled professionals who are dedicated to help protect the motoring public by conducting more than 4 million unannounced inspections each year and removing unsafe trucks, buses and commercial drivers from the road. While we honor the participants of the North American Inspectors Championship who competed this week, we also recognize and salute the thousands of roadside inspectors working everyday with the goal of ensuring that every traveler reaches his or her destination safety.”

You can view photos of the event by clicking here.

Print this page

Have your say:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *