Avatar photo

WINNIPEG, Man. — Robert Ozouf was honored at the Manitoba Trucking Association’s (MTA) annual Safety Luncheon as the Volvo Trucks Canada 2001 Manitoba Driver of the Year.

Ozouf, a driver with Penner International since 1986, has spent the last 32 years behind the wheel since first starting out with his father’s company, Pairie Pride, hauling puffed wheat.

Having racked up more than two million miles without a single preventable accident or moving violation, Ozouf has received numerous safety awards including a 15-year safe driving award from Penner.

While his work has mainly involved city driving around the provincial capital, the long-time trucker spent a number of years out on the highway doing long-haul work.

Other finalists for the award included Harold Rowat, Day & Ross; Jim Skubovius, Penner International; Larry Williamson, NDL Construction; Ken Wiebe, TruServ Canada; Peter Schlichter, Reimer Express Lines; Garth Deschamps, Canadian Freightways; Louis Yelland, Canada Safeway; Cleve O’Donnell, Canada Safeway; Bill Clarke, Redline Transport; Fern Boily, Tetrault Transport; Wilf Hildebrand, Reimer Express Lines.

Avatar photo

Truck News is Canada's leading trucking newspaper - news and information for trucking companies, owner/operators, truck drivers and logistics professionals working in the Canadian trucking industry.

Have your say

This is a moderated forum. Comments will no longer be published unless they are accompanied by a first and last name and a verifiable email address. (Today's Trucking will not publish or share the email address.) Profane language and content deemed to be libelous, racist, or threatening in nature will not be published under any circumstances.