Truck News


Results of the Alberta Truck Driving Championships

RED DEER, Alta. — The 2015 Provincial Truck Driving Championships took place in Alberta this past weekend.

The championships saw 45 of the province’s best professional drivers compete in a three-part competition. The prize for first place winners? The chance to move on to the National Truck Driving Championships scheduled in Regina, Sask. in September.

Contestants faced off at Red Deer’s Westerner Park, where after a pancake breakfast, they each had to write an exam on regulations, legislation and safety, complete a timed pre-trip inspection and make their way through the tight obstacle course. Competitors were placed in five categories depending on the truck they prefer to drive (straight truck, single-single, single-tandem, tandem-tandem and B-train).

According to the AMTA, the day was a great success, and the awards banquet at the end of the night saw 250 guests.

The participants who clinched first place in their category now form Team Alberta. The new team will face-off the other provinces in the National Truck Driving Championships. This year’s Team Alberta members are:

Straight Truck Division: Keith Franklin – Canadian Freightways
Single, Single Division: Darren Tychkowsky – Fed-Ex Freight
Single Tandem Division: First Place: Rick Limoges – Merry Shack Trucking
Tandem, Tandem Division: Rod Harrison – Canadian Freightways
B-Train Division: Ron Johnstone – Canadian Freightways

Print this page
Related Articles

Have your say:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *