Top Alberta drivers crowned

Avatar photo

EDMONTON, Alta. — The Alberta Provincial Truck Driving Championships were held over the weekend in Edmonton, and the big winner was Robert Labelle of Cascade Carriers.

In addition to taking top honors in the B-train category, Labelle was named Grand Champion for winning by the greatest point total over the average in his class.

Nearly 100 truckers participated in this year’s event, vying for a chance to represent Alberta in the national championships in Surrey, B.C. this fall.

Other winners included Kevin Corscadden of Sokil Transportation in the step class; the City of Calgary’s Dale Ostrom in straight; Darren Tychkowsky of Reimer Express Lines took the top honors in the single/single category; Rick McIntosh of Cascade Carriers won the tandem/tandem event; MFP Tractor Service’s Wade Williamson took the single/tandem event.

Rookie of the year honors went to Tychkowsky who racked up more points than the other 38 rookies. The team award went to Sokil Transportation’s team of drivers from Edmonton.

This year marked the 52nd annual truck roadeo in Alberta.

Avatar photo

Truck News is Canada's leading trucking newspaper - news and information for trucking companies, owner/operators, truck drivers and logistics professionals working in the Canadian trucking industry.

Have your say

This is a moderated forum. Comments will no longer be published unless they are accompanied by a first and last name and a verifiable email address. (Today's Trucking will not publish or share the email address.) Profane language and content deemed to be libelous, racist, or threatening in nature will not be published under any circumstances.