truckload carriers association

Get real — and retain your drivers

KISSIMMEE, Fla. -- Basic marketing sense says you should sell your positives, but when it comes to selling your fleet to potential drivers, overselling may be causing higher turnover. Industry experts talking driver retention and feedback at the 2018 Truckload Carriers Association (TCA) convention say broken promises lead to higher driver turnover, with a large number of drivers walking out the door before they’ve been employed a full six months.

Bison’s Rob Penner named TCA chairman

NASHVILLE, TN - Rob Penner, president and Chief Executive Officer of Bison Transport, has been named chaiman of the Truckload Carrier Association (TCA) for the 2017-2018 term. Penner, the second Canadian to ever hold a chairman position with the TCA, took the stage at the association's annual convention in Nashville, Tennessee, and began by cracking a joke that he'd be the first chairman in a long time without an accent. "It is truly a privilege to serve you all as the chairman of the TCA," said Penner. "Eight or nine years ago I got a call from TCA past chairman Kevin Burch, to see if I had any interest in becoming an officer here. This association and the opportunity to get involved and to know many of you has provided tremendous value to me personally, as well as to our company, Bison Transport."

Bison, Big Freight take home grand prizes for fleet safety

NASHVILLE, TN - Manitoba-based Bison Transport and Big Freight were awarded the Truckload Carriers Association's National Fleet Safety grand prizes for small and large carriers during Tuesday's Truckload Carriers Association's 41st annual awards. The awards are given to companies who display an unparalleled commitment to safety. Divisional winners were divided into six categories defined by miles driven. Those companies were then invited to compete for one of two grand prizes, one for carriers with annual mileage below 25 million miles and the other for companies who accumulate over 25 million miles. Companies competing for the award have the lowest accident frequency ratios per million miles annually.